My favourite type of weather….

Far have I travelled…much have I seen…dark distant mountains and valleys of green…past painted deserts and sunsets on fire….as he carries me home to the Mull of Kintyre. …Mull of Kintyre, oh mist rolling in from the sea…my desire is always to be here…oh Mull of Kintyre. …an old Beetles song if I remember well.

What is your favorite type of weather?

The song reminds of Juliasdale, Nyangui and Troutbeck Nyanga Zimbabwe weather. The belt extends along the Eastern highlands of Zimbabwe to Sheba and Stapleford, EC Meikles, Muchena, Imbeza, Vumba, Cashel, Chimanimani and Ngungunyana Chirinda in Chipinge. The climate in the Eastern highlands is characterized by very cold alternatively sunny and drizzly winters and cool to warm very rainy summers. In winter and summer it is not unusual to have up to 2 weeks of continous mist, drizzle and rain, without sunshine. The weather is very unpredictable, you can wake up to cold rain and mist then mid morning to midday it clears up to sunny hot weather and then without warning, a cold rainy night. Alternatively it can be beautiful warm sunny morning but by 10 AM cloud and mist roll in and without warning it’s cold drizzle and rain. One always moves around with a raincoat and wellington boots just in case the weather changes unexpectedly.

My favourite type of weather is a cold misty day with a light to heavy drizzle. I put up a huge flare of fire in the fireplace, get a camping mattress and lie down by the fireside all day long with whisky, a vodka or brandy and coke. Whisky on the rocks or Amarula on the rocks does the trick too. A whole drizzly weekend is great with my woman on the side. My wife usually bakes great muffins and great snacks for such weather. Nothing beats a cold weather regime, relaxing by the fireplace. The nights are cool, the sound of soft rain on the roof and the sound of water trickling from the roofing sheets to the ground is romantic cool sparkling music to my ears. I hate thunder and lightning, they spoil the feeling.

Like in the song Mull of Kintyre, the mist rolling in from the Indian ocean caressing the Nyanga, Vumba and Chimanimani mountains is the sweetest thing I have experienced and I love it overdose. Being a Forester I spent many years in Nyanga, Penhalonga and Chimanimani, I fell in love with the misty drizzly weather of the Skyline, Juliasdale and Troutbeck. Carry me to Nyanga, Vumba, Penhalonga and Chimanimani any day, you make my day.

Sunshine after 7 or 8 days of mist, rain and drizzle is beautiful. It seems every plant, rock and stream would be smiling in the sun. The flowers would be opening, the insects especially the bees hopping from one flower to the next in harmonic hum and a kaleidoscope of butterflies floating aimlessly in the clear atmosphere with an assortment of singing birds as topping to the beautiful feeling. Little trouts and catfish darting in zigzag in the clear streams. Nothing beats sunshine 😉 after ☔🌧️ rain.

I love Juliasdale-Troutbeck- Chimanimani weather. Carry me to the Eastern highlands any day…I love the weather, especially the cool misty drizzle…and my fireplace plus Amarula, Gin or Vodka on the rocks in anticipation to  a warm sunny morning after a romantic ☔🌧️ rainy night.

Published by

talkmoremangunda

a passionate forester and Environmentalist

Leave a comment